July 4, 1776

Thirteen Colonies in North American each established 
a government within the colony to govern themselves 
but still recognized their inclusion of the British Empire.
 During the last half of the 18th century, These thirteen 
Colonies fought to legally separate from Great Britain.   

Paul Revere's Midnight Ride on April 18, 1776 warned the 
colonies that the British were coming.  The British invaded 
with their powerful navy to block the coast.  

George Washington, the American Commander, worked 
 with the governments and states and led his army 
to claim the thirteen Colonies.  

The Governments from each colony then met to write the 
Declaration of Independence.  On July 4, 1776, John Hancock, 
John Adams, Benjamin Franklin, Thomas Jefferson and 52 others 
signed the United States Declaration of Independence which marked 
the day when Congress unanimously approved it.  

John Adams wrote a letter to his wife stating that this day 
would be the most memorable day in history and that it 
should be "commemorated as the day of solemn acts of devotion 
to God almighty and should be celebrated with pomp and parade, 
with shows, games, sports, bells, bonfires, and illuminations, 
from one end of this continent to the other, from this time forward forever more." 

From that day forward, the Fourth of July has 
become a day of celebration that is celebrated across the 
entire United States.  It is a day filled of freedom celebrated 
by parades, good food with family and friends and fireworks 
displays come with load booms and light up the sky 
from sea to shining sea.


No comments:

Post a Comment